Main Content

Today Is Final Day To Register For Federal Disaster Assistance

Release date: 
November 14, 2007
Release Number: 

ROCHESTER, Minn. -- Today marks the deadline for residents of southeastern Minnesota affected by the August severe storms and flooding to register for federal disaster assistance, according to officials from Minnesota Homeland Security and Emergency Management (HSEM) and the U.S Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

The deadline to register for federal disaster assistance is Wednesday, Nov. 14. Residents in seven Minnesota counties may be eligible for assistance for damages from the severe storms and flooding that prompted a presidential disaster declaration on Aug. 23. The designated counties are Dodge, Fillmore, Houston, Olmsted, Steele, Wabasha and Winona. Disaster Loan Outreach Centers (DLOCs) in Rochester, Winona and Rushford, MN will close operations at 6 p.m. Nov. 15.

Those affected by the severe storms and flooding can begin the application process up until 6 p.m. Nov. 14 by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 1-800-462-7585 for the speech- or hearing-impaired. The toll-free numbers operate from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. local time, Monday thru Friday as a FEMA Helpline until further notice for those already registered. Individuals also can register online at through Nov.14.

Individual Assistance is available for homeowners and renters to help replace losses not fully covered by insurance. It can include rental payments for temporary housing for those whose homes are unlivable; grants to repair homes and replace essential household items to make damaged dwellings safe and sanitary; and grants to meet serious disaster-related needs not covered by other programs.

Homeowners, renters, businesses and nonprofit organizations may also be eligible for low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) to help them recover from the disaster, including loans to replace damaged property not fully covered by insurance or grants. In addition, small businesses may receive loans to help provide working capital to recover from the disaster's economic impact. SBA loan applications must be postmarked by today's deadline. 

Anyone needing assistance with their SBA application can call 1-800-659-2955 until further notice or visit the Disaster Loan Outreach Centers (DLOCs) in Rochester, Winona or Rushford, MN before 6 p.m. Nov. 15.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.  

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: