Hours Change For Telephone Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
November 10, 2007
Release Number: 

ROCKFORD, Ill. -- With most eligible individuals already registered for assistance, the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has reduced the hours that operators will be available for telephone registration. As of Monday, November 5, the toll-free number will be staffed Monday-Friday, 8 a.m. - 6 p.m. CDT.

The registration number is 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). Hearing-and speech-impaired residents may call TTY 1-800-462-7585. Individuals may also register at www.fema.gov 24 hours a day.

"Residents with flood-related losses in counties have until November 26 to register for FEMA assistance," said Andrew Velasquez III, State Coordinating Officer for the Illinois Emergency Management Agency (IEMA). "I again urge anyone who is eligible and has not yet registered to call and register today."

FEMA Individual Assistance for losses caused by severe storms and flooding Aug. 20-31 became available after a September 25 presidential disaster declaration. The Individual Assistance program provides grants to help repair or replace structures and personal property and to pay for some other storm-related expenses.

"While Illinois residents are still calling, we have seen a dramatic reduction in the number of people calling to register," said FEMA Federal Coordinating Officer Tony Russell. Registrations for Individual Assistance number 1,747 as of close of business Thursday, November 8.

The Small Business Administration has sent out over 1,300 applications for low-interest loans to people who have registered for FEMA assistance. Completing the application is required to receive further assistance. Anyone with questions about the SBA application may call SBA's toll free help line at 1-800-659-2955 or go online at www.sba.gov.

SBA representatives are staffing Disaster Loan Outreach Centers (DLOCs) in DeKalb, Kane and LaSalle counties. They will be closed on Monday, November 12 for Veterans Day, reopening on Tuesday, November 13. Locations are:

De Kalb County DLOC
Monsanto Building
NIU Monsanto Campus
Bethany Road Entrance
3100 Sycamore Road
De Kalb, IL 60115
Hours: M-F; 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Kane County DLOC
Kane County North Campus
530 S. Randall Road
St. Charles, IL 60174
Hours: M-F; 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.

La Salle County DLOC
Seneca Village Hall
340 N. Cash Street
Seneca, IL 61360
Hours: M-F; 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top