Last Day For Wisconsin Residents To Apply For Disaster Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
October 24, 2007
Release Number: 

LA CROSSE, Wis. -- Those who suffered damage from the severe storms and flooding that occurred Aug. 18 – 31 have until 7 p.m. on Thursday, Oct. 25, to apply for disaster assistance made available through the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and Wisconsin Emergency Management (WEM).

Individuals and business owners can register for assistance online at, or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 1-800-462-7585 for those with speech or hearing impairment. The phone line hours are 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Monday through Saturday.

Residents who already registered can also call those numbers if they have questions, need to update their status or get information about their application. The final day for individuals to register for FEMA assistance or for renters, homeowners or business owners to return SBA loan applications is Thursday, October 25.

Below is a summary of disaster recovery activities, as of close of business Oct. 23:

  • 4,736 individuals have applied for assistance in the 14 Wisconsin counties designated for individual assistance.
  • $6,660,635 in Housing Assistance has been approved for 2,777 applicants, to cover rental assistance, temporary lodging, and repairs to make the home safe and sanitary.
  • $408,284 in Other Needs Assistance has been approved for 582 applicants, to cover personal property loss, medical or dental costs and other serious disaster-related expenses, not covered by insurance.
  • $5,897,600 in loans has been approved by the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) for 202 homeowners and 22 businesses. To date, 3,515 home loan and 786 business loan applications have been issued.
  • $1,288,702 in Public Assistance has been obligated to reimburse local governments and certain private non-profits for eligible emergency protective services, debris removal and the repair and rebuilding of infrastructure. FEMA received a total of 146 requests for Public Assistance from local governments in the five designated counties which include: Crawford, La Crosse, Richland, Sauk and Vernon counties.

Here is a breakdown of FEMA Housing and Other Needs Assistance by county:

County Housing Assistance
Cumulative Amount
COLUMBIA $65,154.02
CRAWFORD $1,367,252.10
DANE $533,687.78
GRANT $130,554.73
GREEN $196,757.39
IOWA $65,300.73
JEFFERSON $119,567.42
KENOSHA $209,332.03
LA CROSSE $765,893.57
RACINE $196,119.12
RICHLAND $557,138.57
ROCK $120,006.14
SAUK $214,353.76
VERNON $2,119,518.14
Total $6,660,635.50


County Other Needs Assistance
Cumulative Amount
COLUMBIA $23,367.37
CRAWFORD $109,580.93
DANE $50,763.17
GRANT $199.99
GREEN $8,646.84
IOWA $799.96
JEFFERSON $3,021.32
KENOSHA $16,086.23
LA CROSSE $50,807.52
RACINE $7,704.28
RICHLAND $36,691.21
ROCK $6,793.37
SAUK $12,197.60
VERNON $81,624.61
Total $408,284.40

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
February 19, 2013 - 11:52
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top