What FEMA Does For Private Non-Profit Facilities

Main Content
Release date: 
October 16, 2007
Release Number: 

ROCKFORD, Ill. -- Some private nonprofit agencies affected by the August 20-31 floods and storms may be eligible for federal disaster assistance. They include those that provide the public with education, utility services, irrigation, emergency aid, medical aid, rehabilitation, custodial care (such as for the aged and disabled), and other essential services.

Below is a summary of what kinds of aid may be available through the Federal Emergency Management Agency?s "Public Assistance" program.

Basic eligibility requirements for private nonprofits:

  • Have a 501(c), (d), or (e) IRS designation, a state tax-exempt form, and bylaws.
  • Have facilities or offer services in one of the three counties designated for Public Assistance aid: DeKalb, Kane and LaSalle
  • Have damages or expenses that were caused by the flooding and severe storms between August 20 and August 31.

Kinds of assistance that may be available to eligible nonprofits:

  • Grants may be available for 75 percent of the cost of emergency services and debris removal related to the disaster.
  • Agencies that provide critical services may be eligible for 75 percent of the costs of returning damaged sites to predisaster condition.  "Critical services" include power, water (including water for irrigation if it serves the general public), sewer, wastewater treatment, communications and emergency medical care.
  • Non critical facilities may receive low-interest loans for permanent repairs from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA). They can contact the SBA by going to a Disaster Recovery Center, an SBA Disaster Loan Outreach Center; or by calling 1-800-659-2955, or by going online to www.sba.gov/disaster . If they are declined for a SBA loan or the loan does not cover all eligible expenses, they may re-apply for a FEMA grant.

All private nonprofits that might want aid from FEMA and/or the SBA are encouraged to file a notice of their interest soon. The forms are called Requests for Public Assistance, and the deadline is October 25. They are available through their local county emergency managers.

Agencies with questions are encouraged to call their local county emergency manager.

FEMA coordinates the federal government?s role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top