Main Content

Deadline Nears To Request Public Assistance

Release date: 
October 9, 2007
Release Number: 

FINDLAY, Ohio -- State and local officials, county agencies, and certain non-profit organizations in northwest Ohio have only two days left to submit a Request for Public Assistance (RPA) for federal assistance after the severe storms and flooding that hit the areas Aug. 20-28.

The deadline to submit the one-page RPA is Oct. 11.

The president?s disaster declaration, issued Aug. 27, designated seven counties eligible for public assistance: Allen, Crawford, Hancock, Hardin, Putnam, Richland, and Wyandot.

Representatives from the Ohio Emergency Management Agency (Ohio EMA) held eight detailed briefings last month in seven locations throughout the disaster area to explain what costs are eligible and how those costs should be submitted for reimbursement.

?The first things we do is try to help with the immediate needs of individuals and families,? said Federal Coordinating Officer Jesse Munoz of FEMA. ?By now, local officials have had a chance to make rough assessments of flood damage to their infrastructure and public buildings, and it?s time to determine how we can help them rebuild.?

Public officials and other eligible applicants who want to file an RPA may call the Ohio EMA Disaster Recovery Branch for information about the Public Assistance program at 419-427-3147.

To date, 107 RPA?s have been submitted. After the form is processed by the state, FEMA works in partnership with applicants, providing technical assistance, helping determine what costs are eligible for reimbursement, and assisting in the development and review of project worksheets.

Eligible costs include debris removal, emergency protective measures (such as police, fire and medical), road and bridge repair, and repair and restoration of public buildings, utilities and recreational facilities.

The federal share of public assistance is 75 percent; the remaining 25 percent will be split equally between the state and local governments or other recipients.

FEMA coordinates the federal government?s role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: