Bexar County Disaster Recovery Center To Open Monday

Main Content
Release date: 
October 5, 2007
Release Number: 

WACO, Texas -- The Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Governor?s Division of Emergency Management (GDEM) announced that a Disaster Recovery Center (DRC) will open on Monday, October 8 in Bexar County to serve those affected by Tropical Storm Erin, August 14-20.

DRCs provide residents an opportunity to meet face to face with representatives from state and federal agencies to find answers to questions they may have about the recovery process. Customer service representatives from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) will be on hand to help homeowners, renters and businesses of all sizes fill out loan applications and answer questions.

The Disaster Recovery Center will be in a fixed location at:

Westlakes Village Shopping Center
1305 SW Loop 410 Suite 115
San Antonio, TX 78227

The DRC will be open from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. seven days a week until further notice.

Texans in disaster-declared counties (Bexar, Harris, Jones, Kendall, Medina, and Taylor) are encouraged to register before visiting a DRC. To register, individuals can call 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for individuals with speech or hearing impairment. Online registration is also available at The deadline for registration is December 3, 2007.

FEMA coordinates the federal government?s role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top