FEMA Registration Available For Texans Affected By Tropical Storm Erin

Main Content
Release date: 
October 3, 2007
Release Number: 

WACO, Texas -- The Governor?s Division of Emergency Management (GDEM) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today disaster assistance is available for Texas residents in Bexar, Harris, Jones, Kendall, Medina and Taylor Counties who were affected by Tropical Storm Erin, August 14-20, 2007.

Federal Coordinating Officer Kenneth Clark and GDEM State Coordinating Officer Joan Haun said those affected by Tropical Storm Erin may register for assistance immediately by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., seven days a week until further notice or by going on-line at www.fema.gov. Those with speech or hearing impairment may call TTY 1-800-462-7585.

The federal disaster declaration makes residents of these counties eligible for a wide range of assistance programs such as funding for temporary disaster housing assistance, U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) low-interest disaster loans for individuals and business owners to repair or replace damaged property, replacement grants for serious disaster-related needs and expenses not covered by insurance or other assistance programs.

"Don't miss out by failing to register with FEMA," Clark said. "Even if you have already registered with the American Red Cross or have reported damage to county or local officials, you can apply for the federal assistance programs only by calling FEMA's toll-free number or by going on-line."

When calling to register have the following information available:

  • Your current phone number;
  • Your address at the time of the disaster and the address where you are now staying;
  • Your Social Security number, if available;
  • A general list of damages and losses you suffered;
  • If insured, the name of your company or agent and your policy number;
  • General financial information; and
  • Bank account coding if you wish to speed up your assistance with direct deposit.

President Bush signed a major disaster declaration on October 2 making federal aid available to help meet the recovery needs of affected residents and business owners in response to a request from Governor Rick Perry.

FEMA coordinates the federal government?s role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top