Two Weeks Left to Apply for Disaster Unemployment Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
October 1, 2007
Release Number: 

BISMARCK, N.D. -- Individuals whose jobs were impacted by the severe storms and tornadoes Aug. 26 and 27 in Grand Forks County have just two weeks left to apply for disaster  unemployment assistance (DUA), say state and federal recovery officials.

To apply for disaster unemployment assistance, call Job Service North Dakota 1-701-328-3352.  Deadline to apply is Oct. 15, 2007.  DUA claims filed after Oct. 15, 2007 will be considered untimely and benefits denied, unless the individual provides good cause for filing after that date.

The special unemployment program was made available after President Bush declared Grand Forks County a major disaster area following the storms, which included an EF-4 tornado that heavily damaged the City of Northwood.

DUA covers self-employed persons, farmers and others not eligible for regular unemployment programs.  Information needed to apply includes: copy of your 2006 federal income tax return; verification of your social security number; proof that you were working at the time of the disaster.

To be eligible, you must:

  • Have worked or been scheduled to work in the disaster area but because of the disaster or its damage, you weren't able to do so;
  • Have been prevented from working by an injury or illness as a direct result of the disaster; or
  • Have become the head of the household and need employment because the head of the household died as a result of the disaster;

To register for other state and federal disaster assistance, contact the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) at 1-800-621-3362; (TTY) 1-800-462-7585 or go online at

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top