Disaster Assistance For June/July Storms Nears $40 Million

Main Content
Release date: 
September 7, 2007
Release Number: 

WICHITA, Kan. -- Nearly $40 million ($39,807,065) has been approved by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) as they continue to assist the state of Kansas and the Kansas Division of Emergency Management (KDEM) in the recovery from the severe storms and flooding June 26-July 25.

Although the registration deadline was Tuesday, Sept. 4, 2007 for those who suffered damage from the June/July storms and flooding, FEMA's Helpline 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) remains available to assist applicants who have questions about disaster assistance programs or about the status of their previously filed application. The lines are open Monday through Friday from 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. The TTY number for residents with special needs is TTY 1-800-462-7585. Information is also available online at www.fema.gov.

Disaster recovery efforts through September 7 include:

  • 4,113 individuals and households from 23 designated counties have applied for assistance.

  • More than $14 million ($14,253,213) in Housing Assistance has been approved to cover rental assistance, temporary lodging and housing repairs.  There are 51 occupied mobile homes provided by FEMA.

  • More than $3.5 million ($3, 615,790) in Other Needs Assistance (ONA) has been approved to cover personal property loss, medical costs and other serious disaster-related expenses not covered by insurance.

  • 7,111 visits to Disaster Recovery Centers throughout the region have been made by people affected by the disaster who have met with recovery experts there.

  • 3,270 home inspections have been conducted.

  • Public Assistance grants totaling $532,963 have been obligated to date in response to 232 Requests for Public Assistance (RPAs) from public entities (counties, cities, eligible private non-profit agencies).  The remaining RPAs currently are being evaluated.  Under FEMA's Public Assistance program, qualifying jurisdictions can be partially reimbursed for eligible emergency protective measures, debris removal, and the repair or replacement of damaged facilities and infrastructure.

  • The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) has approved $21 million ($21,405,100) in low-interest disaster loans to Kansas residents and businesses.  The SBA provides low-interest loans to homeowners, renters, non-profit organizations and businesses of all sizes.

Wednesday, Sept. 19, 2007 is the deadline for returning completed SBA loan applications.  SBA representatives at all the Disaster Recovery Centers will continue to meet individually with  each applicant to provide assistance in completing their disaster loan application, answer any questions about SBA's disaster loan program, and accept completed disaster loan applications. Anyone not able to visit a center should call 1-800-659-2955 for SBA assistance or visit the Web site at www.sba.gov/services/disasterassistance.

Under the July 2 declaration and subsequent amendments, FEMA Public Assistance grants are authorized to assist state and local government agencies and eligible private nonprofit organizations with the response to and recovery from the disaster. The 23 counties eligible for Public Assistance are Allen, Anderson, Bourbon, Butler, Chautauqua, Cherokee, Coffey, Cowley, Crawford, Edwards, Elk, Franklin, Greenwood, Harper, Labette, Linn, Miami, Montgomery, Neosho, Osage, Pawnee, Wilson, and Woodson. For more information, governmental and private, non-profit organizations in these counties should cont...

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top