Pawnee And Harper Disaster Recovery Centers Closing Wednesday

Main Content
Release date: 
August 13, 2007
Release Number: 

WICHITA, Kan. -- The Pawnee County Disaster Recovery Center (DRC) located at 417 Broadway, Larned; and the Harper County DRC located at 115 East Main, Harper will close Wednesday, August 15, at 6 p.m.

"Closing these recovery centers does not mean we are closing down registrations for disaster assistance in Pawnee and Harper Counties," said Michael L. Karl, federal coordinating officer.  The registration deadline for those affected by the severe storms and flooding from June 26 to July 25 is Sept. 4.

"Homeowners, renters and business owners in any of the 23 counties designated for Individual Assistance can still register with FEMA by phone or on the Internet," Angee Morgan, state coordinating officer said.

The counties are: Allen, Anderson, Bourbon, Butler, Chautauqua, Cherokee, Coffey, Cowley, Crawford, Edwards, Elk, Franklin, Greenwood, Harper, Labette, Linn, Miami, Montgomery, Neosho, Osage, Pawnee, Wilson and Woodson.

FEMA Individual Assistance (IA) programs are available to eligible applicants to cover disaster-related serious needs and necessary expenses not covered by insurance. IA can take the form of rental assistance; repair and replacement assistance for homeowners; and, through the Other Needs Assistance portion of the IA program, personal property, transportation, medical, dental, and funeral expenses.

The telephone registration line, 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) is open from 7 a.m. to 6 p.m., CDT, Monday through Saturday. Residents with special speech or hearing needs is TTY 1-800-462-7585. Register online at

The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) low interest disaster loans can help homeowners, renters, businesses of all sizes, and private non-profit organizations pay for their disaster losses. They also will meet with applicants one-on-one and assist them in filling out their loan applications. Anyone not able to visit a center should call 1-800-659-2955 for SBA assistance or visit the website at

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top