Main Content

Disaster Assistance For June Storms Tops $29 Million

Main Content
Release date: 
August 10, 2007
Release Number: 

WICHITA, Kan. -- More than $29 million ($29,385,335) in assistance has been approved to date by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) as they continue to assist the state of Kansas and the Kansas Division of Emergency Management (KDEM) in the recovery from the severe storms and flooding June 26-July 25.

Disaster recovery efforts through August 9 include:

  • 3,725 individuals and households from 23 designated counties have applied for assistance as a result of President Bush's July 2 declaration of a major disaster.  Sept. 4 is the last day individuals can apply for FEMA assistance under the July 2 declaration.

  • More than $13 million ($13,254,265) in Housing Assistance has been approved to cover rental assistance, temporary lodging and housing repairs.

  • More than $3 million ($3,244,770 in Other Needs Assistance (ONA) has been approved to cover personal property loss, medical costs and other serious disaster-related expenses not covered by insurance.

  • 6,285 visits to Disaster Recovery Centers throughout the region have been made by people affected by the disaster who have met with recovery experts there.

  • 2,920 home inspections have been conducted.

  • 207 public entities (counties, cities, certain private non-profit agencies) have applied for federal assistance. These requests currently are being evaluated and additional requests are being received. Qualifying jurisdictions can be partially reimbursed for eligible emergency protective measures, debris removal, and the repair or replacement of damaged facilities and infrastructure.

  • The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) has approved nearly $13 million ($12,886,300) in low-interest disaster loans to Kansas residents and businesses.  The SBA provides low-interest loans to homeowners, renters, non-profit organizations and businesses of all sizes.

SBA representatives at all the Disaster Recovery Centers will continue to meet individually with  each applicant to provide assistance in completing their disaster loan application, answer any questions about SBA's disaster loan program, and accept completed disaster loan applications. Anyone not able to visit a center should call 1-800-659-2955 for SBA assistance or visit the Web site at

Under the July 2 declaration and subsequent amendments, FEMA Public Assistance grants are authorized to assist state and local government agencies and certain private nonprofit organizations with the response to and recovery from the disaster in 21 counties: Allen, Anderson, Bourbon, Butler, Chautauqua, Cherokee, Coffey, Cowley, Crawford, Elk, Franklin, Greenwood, Harper, Labette, Linn, Miami, Montgomery, Neosho, Osage, Wilson, and Woodson.  For more information, governmental and private, non-profit organizations in these counties should contact their local emergency management officials.

Residents in the 23 counties eligible for Individual Assistance under the July 2 declaration and subsequent amendments who suffered damage from the storms and flooding of June 26-July 25 should call and register for assistance no later than Sept. 4.

The 23 counties now eligible for Individual Assistance are Allen, Anderson, Bourbon, Butler, Chautauqua, Cherokee, Coffey, Cowley, Crawford, Edwards, Elk, Franklin, Greenwood, Harper, Labette, Linn, Miami, Montgomery, Neosho, Osage, Pawnee, Wilson, and Woodson.

Eligible residents can call the toll-free registration line...

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top