More Than $ 2 Million In Public Assistance Awarded

Main Content
Release date: 
August 3, 2007
Release Number: 

SIOUX FALL, S.D. -- As of August 2nd, more than $2 million has been obligated to the state of South Dakota by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) under its Public Assistance grant program for costs associated with the May 4 -5 severe storms, floods and tornadoes. The $ 2 million obligation represents the federal share of the cost of eligible work submitted for reimbursement to date by applicants throughout the declared jurisdictions.

State/federal public assistance teams have been working with local applicants, assessing and documenting damages for reimbursement. According to Kristi Turman, the State Coordinating Officer, the process is working very smoothly and is ahead of schedule.

“Field inspections, which are always the most time-consuming part of the process, began on June 7th” said Turman, “We estimate that field work will be completed by August 17th, and processing will be finalized by the end of August.”

FEMA’s Public Assistance program provides financial assistance to state and local governments and eligible non-profit organizations for preventive measures, debris removal, and repair, restoration, reconstruction or replacement of public facilities or infrastructure damaged or destroyed by the disaster.

The State Office of Emergency Management manages the cost-share program and reimburses applicants for their eligible costs. FEMA pays 75 percent of eligible costs; and the state of South Dakota has assumed the applicants’ 25 percent share.

The counties designated eligible to receive public assistance are: Aurora, Beadle, Bon Homme, Brown, Brule, Buffalo, Clark, Day, Gregory, Hanson, Hutchinson, Jackson, Jerauld, Kingsbury, Lake, Marshall, McCook, Miner, Roberts, Sanborn, Spink, Tripp and Yankton counties, and those portions of the Pine Ridge Indian Reservation, Crow Creek Indian Reservation and Sisseton Wahpeton Indian Oyate that lie within the designated counties.

The presidential disaster declaration included individual assistance for residents of Beadle, Brown, Clark, Davison, Hanson, Hutchinson, Marshall, Miner, Sanborn, Spink and Yankton counties.

Though the deadline for registering for individual assistance was July 23, federal, state, local and voluntary agencies continue working in partnership to help South Dakota residents in the disaster recovery process. The following is an update of disaster assistance provided as of close of business Wednesday, August 1.

  • 5,116 South Dakotans have registered with FEMA for disaster assistance.
  • $6.15 million has been awarded in housing assistance grants.
  • $540,265 for Other Needs Assistance (ONA) has been approved.
  • The state of South Dakota has provided $787,000 in assistance for food, clothing, and medicine.
  • SBA has approved over $17 million in low-interest loans to South Dakota residents and businesses.
  • $210,175 has been awarded in Disaster Unemployment Assistance.

FEMA coordinates the federal government’s role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top