Disaster Recovery Centers in Reno and Saline Counties Closing

Main Content
Release date: 
August 3, 2007
Release Number: 

WICHITA, Kan. -- The Reno and Saline Disaster Recovery Centers (DRCs), located at 2806 West 4th Avenue, Hutchinson, and 1510 W. Republic Ave., Salina will close Saturday, August 4, at 6 p.m.

The registration deadline for those affected by the severe storms, tornados and flooding from May 4 to June 1 is August 6. "Closing these recovery centers does not mean we are closing down registrations for disaster assistance. You can still register by phone or on the internet, but you must do this by August 6," said Michael L. Karl, federal coordinating officer.

"Homeowners, renters and business owners in any of the 24 counties designated for Individual Assistance can still register with FEMA by phone or on the Internet," Angee Morgan, state coordinating officer said.

The counties are: Barton, Clay, Cloud, Comanche, Dickinson, Edwards, Ellsworth, Kiowa, Leavenworth, Lyon, McPherson, Osage, Osborne, Ottawa, Phillips, Pottawatomie, Pratt, Reno, Rice, Riley, Saline, Shawnee, Smith and Stafford. The Kiowa County DRC is open for questions.

FEMA programs available to eligible applicants include funding for temporary disaster housing assistance, replacement grants for serious disaster-related needs, and expenses not covered by insurance or assistance programs.

The telephone registration line, 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) is open from 7 a.m. to 6 p.m., CDT, Monday through Saturday. The TTY number for residents with special speech or hearing needs is TTY 1-800-462-7585. ?Register online at www.fema.gov.

The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) low interest disaster loans can help homeowners, renters, businesses of all sizes, and private non-profit organizations pay for their disaster losses, according to SBA officials. They also will meet with applicants one-on-one and assist them in filling out their loan applications. Anyone not able to visit a center should call 1-800-659-2955 for SBA assistance or visit the website at www.sba.gov/services/disasterassistance.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror. 

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top