Disaster Recovery Centers In Elk, Neosho And Wilson Counties Transitioning To SBA Disaster Loan Outreach Centers

Main Content
Release date: 
August 2, 2007
Release Number: 

WICHITA, Kan. -- The three state-federal disaster recovery centers (DRCs) in Elk, Neosho and Wilson Counties located at 100 N. Pine, Howard; 410 W. 3rd Street, Erie; and 1407 N. 8th Street, Neodesha; will close Saturday, August 4, at 6 p.m., and reopen as U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) Disaster Loan Outreach Centers (DLOCs), federal and state disaster officials announced today.

Wilson County DLOC
City Hall
1407 N. 8th Street, Neodesha
Mondays and Tuesdays
8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Elk County DLOC 
Courthouse Parking Lot
100 N. Pine, Howard
8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

New Location
Neosho County DLOC
Erie Public Library
204 South Butler Street, Erie
Wednesdays and Thursdays
9 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.

"Closing these recovery centers does not mean we are closing down registrations for disaster assistance in Elk, Neosho and Wilson Counties," said Michael L. Karl, federal coordinating officer. "Kansans in the 23 counties designated for Individual Assistance can still register with FEMA by phone or on the Internet.

"We believe the transition of the DRCs to SBA offices will better meet the current needs of Elk, Neosho, and Wilson county residents," said Angee Morgan, state coordinating officer.

The telephone registration line, 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) is open from 7 a.m. to 6 p.m., CDT, Monday through Saturday. The TTY number for residents with special speech or hearing needs is TTY 1-800-462-7585.  Register online at www.fema.gov.

FEMA programs available to eligible applicants include funding for temporary disaster housing assistance, replacement grants for serious disaster-related needs, and expenses not covered by insurance or assistance programs.

SBA low interest disaster loans can help homeowners, renters, businesses of all sizes, and private non-profit organizations pay for their disaster losses, according to SBA officials. They also will meet with applicants one-on-one and assist them in filling out their loan applications. Anyone not able to visit a center should call 1-800-659-2955 for SBA assistance or visit the website at www.sba.gov/services/disasterassistance.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top