Main Content

Individual Assistance Program Brings Variety of Aid

Main Content
Release date: 
August 1, 2007
Release Number: 

WINDSOR, Conn. -- With less that two weeks remaining to register for federal assistance to help with April 15-27 storm recovery, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) reminds Connecticut residents that a variety of programs are available for individuals and households.  August 13 is the deadline to register for FEMA and Small Business Administration (SBA) programs.

FEMA Housing Assistance assures that people with homes damaged by the April storms have a safe, sanitary and secure place to live. Under the IHP, repair money helps homeowners fix disaster damage that is not covered by insurance.

The Other Needs Assistance (ONA) Program, funded by FEMA and the Connecticut Department of Emergency Management and Homeland Security, provides financial assistance to individuals and households who have losses to essential personal property that are a direct result of the disaster and who do not qualify for a low interest loan from the SBA. The ONA program provides funds for expenses that are not covered by insurance, volunteer agencies or other sources. 

Examples of other disaster-related needs are:

  • Medical or dental expenses;
  • Personal property losses such as clothing, furnishings, appliances, specialized tools required for a job and necessary educational materials;
  • Transportation, moving and storage expenses;
  • Certain other eligible expenses.

Assistance from either of these programs is available only to homeowners and renters who are United States citizens, non-citizen nationals, or qualified aliens affected by the disaster.

Even if you spoke with other state or volunteer agency disaster aid workers, you still need to register directly with FEMA before 7 p.m. Monday, August 13, to be eligible for assistance.

Call 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 1-800-462-7585 between 8 a.m. and 7 p.m. Monday through Friday.   Or register online at

Small Business Administration

For property damage not covered by insurance, the SBA disaster loan program is the primary form of disaster assistance. The deadline to apply for these loans is August 13, 2007:

  • Low interest loans of up to $200,000 to homeowners to repair or replace disaster-related damages to homes not covered by insurance;
  • Low interest loans up to $40,000 for homeowners and renters to replace damaged or destroyed personal property not covered by insurance,
  • Low interest disaster loans up to $1.5 million to business owners to repair or replace disaster-damaged property including inventory and supplies; and

SBA also provides Economic Injury Disaster Loans (EIDL) to small businesses and to small agricultural cooperatives to assist them through the disaster recovery period.  The deadline to apply for EIDL assistance is March 13, 2008.

Call the SBA at 1-800-659-2955 or visit

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top