Main Content

Disaster Recovery Center Opening August 2 In Harper County

Main Content
Release date: 
August 1, 2007
Release Number: 

WICHITA, Kan. -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) and the Kansas Division of Emergency Management (KDEM) announce the opening Thursday, August 2, of a Disaster Recovery Center in Harper County.

This Disaster Recovery Center (DRC) will serve those affected by the severe storms and flooding from June 26 to July 25. Hours of operation will be from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m., Monday through Saturday, and closed on Sundays.

Location for the new Disaster Recovery Center is listed below:

Harper County DRC    
Old Harper County Health Dept. Building
115 East Main
Harper, Kansas

Disaster Recovery Centers provide residents an opportunity to meet face to face with representatives from state and federal agencies to find answers to questions they may have about the recovery process.

Individuals may register for assistance by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), or TTY 1-800-462-7585 for those with hearing or speech impairments. The FEMA application line is open 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. CDT, Monday through Saturday. You can also register online at

The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) low interest disaster loans can help homeowners, renters, businesses of all sizes, and private non-profit organizations pay for their disaster losses, according to SBA officials. They also will meet with applicants one-on-one and assist them in filling out their loan applications. Anyone not able to visit a center should call 1-800-659-2955 for SBA assistance or visit the website at

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: