Main Content

Ten Additional Counties Declared Eligible For Public Assistance

Release date: 
July 24, 2007
Release Number: 

OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. -- The Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management (OEM) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today that 10 additional Oklahoma counties that sustained severe weather damage in early May have now been declared for Public Assistance (PA).

The newly declared counties of Canadian, Cotton, Grady, Grant, Hughes, Logan, McClain, McIntosh, Pawnee, and Tillman counties have been approved to receive public assistance under a Presidential disaster declaration originally issued June 7. The declaration covers storms that occurred May 4-11.

Under a disaster declaration for public assistance, local governments are eligible to receive aid for repairs of public infrastructure and other costs incurred in responding to the storms.

For more information on Oklahoma disaster recovery, visit, or the

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: