Main Content

Last Day to Apply for Federal Disaster Assistance Monday, July 23

Main Content
Release date: 
July 20, 2007
Release Number: 

SIOUX FALLS, S.D. -- With just a few days remaining to register with FEMA for disaster assistance, more than $23 million in FEMA and State of South Dakota grants, and U. S. Small Business Administration (SBA) low-interest loans have been approved to assist South Dakota residents who suffered damages from the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding that occurred May 4-5, 2007.

The last day to apply for disaster assistance, and return a disaster loan application to SBA, is Monday, July 23. Residents and business owners living or working in one of the 11 disaster-declared counties who sustained damage or loss may register by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 1-800-462-7585 for the hearing and speech impaired, or on-line at Phone lines will be available from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. (CDT), Monday through Saturday.

"Even though July 23 is the last day to apply, we will continue to process applications," said Federal Coordinating Officer Justin Dombrowski.

After applying, registrants may receive a loan application from SBA. Whether interested in a loan or not, applicants should at least complete the SBA loan package and return it to SBA by the July 23 deadline. The completed loan application is the key to being considered for several assistance programs. If the completed application is not returned, disaster victims may be eliminating themselves from any possible additional grants from FEMA and the state.

Low-interest disaster loans from SBA are available to homeowners, renters, businesses of all sizes and private non-profit organizations. For additional information call the SBA Customer Service Center at (800) 659-2955, or visit SBA's website at

State assistance is available by calling South Dakota's help line at 1-866-737-8998 from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday. This number can also be used to request face-to-face assistance with the disaster aid registration process.

The 11 South Dakota counties that have been declared eligible for Individual Assistance are Beadle, Brown, Clark, Davison, Hanson, Hutchinson, Marshall, Miner, Sanborn, Spink and Yankton.

Federal, state, local and voluntary agencies are working in partnership to help South Dakota residents in the disaster recovery process. The following is an update on federal and state disaster assistance:

  • 5,018 South Dakotans have registered with FEMA for disaster assistance.
  • $6.5 million has been awarded in housing assistance grants.
  • $520,000 for Other Needs Assistance (ONA) has been approved.
  • The state of South Dakota has provided $741,894 in assistance for food, clothing, and medicine.
  • SBA has approved more than $16 million in low-interest loans to South Dakota residents and businesses.
  • $797,355 has been obligated for 391 Public Assistance projects.
  • 4,585 home inspections have been completed.
  • Community relations representatives have visited 7,042 households, 1,312 businesses, and 904 churches and local community organizations.

Counties included in the Public Assistance disaster declaration are: Aurora, Beadle, Bon Homme, Brown, Brule, Buffalo, Clark, Day, Gregory, Hanson, Hutchinson, Jackson, Jerauld, Kingsbury, Lake, Marshall, McCook, Miner, Roberts, Sanborn, Spink, Tripp and Yankton. Portions of the Pine Ridge Indian Reservation, Crow Creek Indian Reservation, and the Sisseton Wahpeton Indian Oyate that lie within the designated counties are also eligible for Public Assistance.

FEMA's Public Assistance program provides funding to state, local and tribal governments, and certain private non-profits on a cost-sharing basis. The fund...

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: