Main Content

New Kansas Counties Added for FEMA Infrastructure Disaster Assistance from June Floods

Main Content
Release date: 
July 19, 2007
Release Number: 

WICHITA, Kan. -- The Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announces that 21 counties affected by storms that began June 26 are now eligible for all categories of FEMA?s Public Assistance.

Allen, Anderson, Bourbon, Butler, Chautauqua, Cherokee, Coffey, Cowley, Elk, Franklin, Linn, Miami, Montgomery, Neosho, Osage, Wilson and Woodson counties are now approved for full Public Assistance. Previously these counties had been designated for emergency protective measures.

Additionally, Crawford, Greenwood, Harper and Labette counties have been declared for all Public Assistance programs.

"The additional public assistance in these counties is welcome news for the residents and public officials in the disaster areas," said Angie Morgan, state coordinating officer for the Kansas Division of Emergency Management (KDEM). "This new assistance will rapidly assist our communities as they continue to rebound from the effects of these historic storms."

The counties are now eligible for debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster, repair or replacement of damaged public facilities such as roads, buildings and utilities, and recreational facilities such as parks or playgrounds damaged by the storms.

"This progression of federal aid enables the communities to rebuild their local infrastructure in a logical transition from disaster-to-recovery," said Michael L. Karl, federal coordinating officer in charge of Kansas disaster recovery operations.

The Hazard Mitigation Grant Program (HMGP) was also authorized to the counties approved under the federal disaster declaration on July 13, 2007. HMGP provides grants to states and local governments to implement long-term hazard mitigation measures after a major disaster declaration.

Applicants' briefings will be held in the newly approved counties. Further information is available through the Kansas Division of Emergency Management Public Assistance Branch.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top