Main Content

More Kansas Counties Damaged by May Tornadoes, Floods Now Eligible for Disaster Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
July 19, 2007
Release Number: 

WICHITA, Kan. -- The Department of Homeland Security?s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today that three additional counties are now eligible for FEMA's Individual Assistance to help homeowners, renters, and businesses recover from the effects of the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding from May 4 to June 1.

McPherson, Smith and Pottawatomie counties were added to the May 6, 2007 major disaster declaration. A total of 24 counties in Kansas are now eligible for Individual Assistance as a result of the May storms.

The earlier 21 counties designated to receive Individual Assistance are; Barton, Clay, Cloud, Comanche, Dickinson, Edwards, Ellsworth, Kiowa, Leavenworth, Lyon, Osage, Osborne, Ottawa, Phillips, Pratt, Reno, Rice, Riley, Saline, Shawnee and Stafford.

Residents of all 24 counties may be eligible for assistance under FEMA's Individual Assistance program. The Individual Assistance program can help eligible applicants with temporary housing assistance, uninsured personal property and medical, dental, and funeral expenses caused by the disaster, and other serious unmet needs.

Those who suffered damage from the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding are encouraged to register online at or call 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 1-800-462-7585 for the hearing or speech-impaired. The toll-free numbers are available from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. CDT daily.

U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) representatives are at all Disaster Recovery Centers (DRCs) locations to explain how SBA low-interest disaster loans can help homeowners, renters, businesses of all sizes, and private non-profit organizations pay for their disaster losses. They also will meet with applicants one-on-one and assist them in filling out their loan applications. Anyone not able to visit a center should call 1-800-659-2955 for SBA assistance or visit the website at

FEMA has also expanded its public assistance to seven more Kansas counties to aid local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations. This assistance includes debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster, repair or replacement of damaged public facilities, such as roads, buildings and utilities, and parks and public recreational facilities damaged by the May 4 through June 1 storms.

Governmental entities, municipal authorities, and certain private nonprofit organizations in Cowley, Harvey, Marshall, McPherson, Morris, Pawnee, and Smith counties are now eligible for all categories of the FEMA Public Assistance program.

This brings the total amount of eligible counties to 39 that are now eligible for the FEMA Public Assistance program as a result of the May storms.

Public Assistance was already available in 32 counties; Barton, Brown, Clay, Chase, Cherokee, Comanche, Dickinson, Doniphan, Douglas, Edwards, Ellsworth, Harper, Jackson, Kingman, Kiowa, Leavenworth, Lincoln, Lyon, Nemaha, Osborne, Osage, Ottawa, Pottawatomie, Pratt, Reno, Rice, Riley, Saline, Shawnee, Stafford, Wabaunsee and Washington counties.

Applicants' Briefings will be held in the add-on counties. Further information is available through the Kansas Division of Emergency Management Public Assistance Branch.

The Hazard Mitigation Grant Program (HMGP) was also authorized to the counties approved under the federal disaster declaration on July 2, 2007. HMGP provides grants to states and local governments to implement long-term hazard mitigation measures after a major disaster declaration.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, wheth...

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: