Memorial Hall In Independence To Replace Fema?s Mobile Disaster Recovery Center

Main Content
Release date: 
July 16, 2007
Release Number: 

WICHITA, Kan. -- The mobile unit serving as a Disaster Recovery Center in Independence, Montgomery County, will be replaced tomorrow, July 17, with a local permanent facility.

The new location of the “fixed” Disaster Recovery Center in Independence is:

Memorial Hall
410 N. Pennsylvania
Independence, KS 67301
The hours of operation for all DRCs will be 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. daily until further notice.

A Disaster Recovery Center is a place where residents affected by the storms and flooding beginning June 26 can meet with representatives of state and federal agencies and ask questions about the recovery process.

Disaster Recovery Centers in Kansas are coordinated jointly through the Kansas Division of Emergency Management (KDEM), the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), and the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA).

Individuals who suffered damage as a result of the storms and flooding beginning June 26, can call and register for disaster assistance before traveling to the DRC, or register once they arrive.

Residents who live in the following counties are eligible to apply: Allen, Cowley, Elk, Labette, Linn, Miami, Montgomery, Neosho and Wilson. The deadline to register for assistance in these counties is September 4, 2007.

Residents of those counties may be eligible for assistance under FEMA’s Individual Assistance program. The Individual Assistance program can help eligible applicants with temporary housing assistance, uninsured personal property and medical, dental, and funeral expenses caused by the disaster, and other serious unmet needs.

Applicants in the affected counties are welcome to visit any DRC in their area. The other locations are:

  • Montgomery County (second location):
    Community Elementary School
    102 S. Cline St.
    Coffeyville, KS
  • Allen County
    315 South Street
    Iola, KS
    (The one exception to the other DRC hours; this DRC has limited Sunday hours of 1 p.m. -6 p.m.)
  • Elk County:
    Elk County Courthouse Parking Lot
    100 N. Pine
    Howard, KS
  • Miami County:
    Osawatomie High School Auditorium
    1200 Trojan Dr.
    Osawatomie, KS
  • Neosho County:
    Erie High School
    410 W. 3rd
    Erie, KS
  • Wilson County:
    City Hall
    1407 N. 8th St.
    Neodesha, KS

SBA representatives are at all DRC locations to explain how SBA low-interest disaster loans can help homeowners, renters, businesses of all sizes, and private non-profit organizations pay for their disaster losses. They also will meet with applicants one-on-one and assist them in filling out their loan applications. Anyone not able to visit a center should call 1-800-659-2955 for SBA assistance or visit the website at

Individuals can register for assistance by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), or TTY 1-800-462-7585 for those who are hearing or speech-impaired. The FEMA application line is open 7:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. CDT seven days a week, until further notice. You can also register online at

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top