Don't Miss The Deadlines For Disaster Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
July 10, 2007
Release Number: 

KANSAS CITY, Mo. -- Only one month remains for people impacted by the severe storms and flooding that occurred May 5 – 18, 2007, to register for disaster assistance, the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and Missouri’s State Emergency Management Agency remind residents.

The following deadlines are important for homeowners, renters and business owners in Andrew, Atchison, Buchanan, Carroll, Chariton, Clay, Daviess, De Kalb, Gentry, Holt, Jackson, Lafayette, Livingston, Morgan, Nodaway, Osage, and Platte counties:

Thursday, July 12, 2007— Disaster Unemployment Assistance.

Residents of Missouri living or working in the 17 declared counties whose employment was affected by the disaster may be eligible for Disaster Unemployment Assistance if they do not qualify for the state’s regular unemployment insurance program. DUA funds come from the federal government and not from state employer payroll taxes. DUA may be available to farmers, self-employed and others who normally cannot receive unemployment insurance.

Friday, Aug. 10, 2007—FEMA Registration Deadline

Friday, Aug. 10 is the last day to register with FEMA for Individual Assistance. Those who have registered need not register again. Call FEMA at 1-800-621 FEMA (3362) or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing- and speech-impaired. Registration lines are open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m., seven days a week. Register online at

Friday, Aug. 10, 2007—U.S. Small Business Administration Deadline

Applications from business owners, homeowners or renters for SBA physical disaster loans are due no later than Friday Aug. 10. SBA applications for economic injury to businesses (e.g. loss of business due to the disaster) are due by March 11, 2008.

There are other programs that do not have a deadline, including crisis counseling and legal assistance.

Crisis Counseling

Crisis counselors can assist with any emotional stress caused by the recent disasters or any other cause. The CommCare Crisis Line at 1-888-279-8188 is available for residents of Cass, Jackson,

Lafayette, Platte and Ray counties in the greater Kansas area and Andrew, Atchison, Buchanan, Caldwell, Clinton, Daviess, DeKalb, Gentry, Grundy, Harrison, Holt, Linn, Livingston, Mercer, Nodaway, Putnam, Sullivan and Worth counties in Northwest Missouri. Residents in other counties may call the Missouri Department of Mental Health referral line at 1-800-364-9687.

Legal Services from the Young Lawyers Section, Missouri Bar

The Young Lawyers' Section (YLS) of The Missouri Bar offers free disaster legal help to disaster victims needing to replace lost documents such as birth certificates, marriage licenses and mortgage papers, or who need help with insurance claims, landlord-tenant issues, consumer protection problems and other legal issues. Individuals with needs related to the May 5-18 storms should call 1-800-829-4128, 24 hours per day, 7 days a week. Callers are directed to leave daytime contact information and a brief description of the legal issue. A legal representative will contact them.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top