Main Content

Emporia Disaster Recovery Center in Lyon County to Close

Main Content
Release date: 
July 9, 2007
Release Number: 

WICHITA, Kan. -- The Emporia Disaster Recovery Center located at 2310 Industrial Road, will close Tuesday, July 10 at 6 p.m.

"Closing this recovery center does not mean we are closing down registrations for disaster assistance in Lyon County," said Michael L. Karl, federal coordinating officer. ?The registration deadline for those affected by the severe storms, flooding and tornadoes of May 4-8 is August 4.

"Homeowners, renters and business owners in any of the 21 counties designated for Individual Assistance may still register with FEMA by phone or on the Internet," Angee Morgan, state coordinating officer said.

The counties are: Barton, Clay, Cloud, Comanche, Dickinson, Edwards, Ellsworth, Kiowa, Leavenworth, Lyon, Osage, Osborne, Ottawa, Phillips, Pratt, Reno, Rice, Riley, Saline, Shawnee and Stafford.

FEMA programs available to eligible applicants include funding for temporary disaster housing assistance, replacement grants for serious disaster-related needs and expenses not covered by insurance or assistance programs.

The telephone registration line, 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) is open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. seven days a week. The TTY number for residents with special speech or hearing needs is TTY 1-800-462-7585.? Register online at

U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) representatives are in the Disaster Recovery Center to meet individually with each resident, business owner or non-profit organization to answer any questions about SBA's disaster loan program, help them complete their disaster loan application and accept their completed applications.  After the DRC closes individuals may mail their completed applications to the SBA at 14925 Kingsport Road, Fort Worth, Texas 76155, prior to the deadline.? Individuals with questions about SBA's disaster loan program may call 1-800-659-2955 the TTY number for the hearing impaired is (800) 877‑8339 or visit the website at

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror. 

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: