Disaster Recovery Centers To Open In Miami, Montgomery And Wilson Counties Tomorrow

Main Content
Release date: 
July 6, 2007
Release Number: 

WICHITA, Kan. -- Disaster Recovery Centers (DRC) will open in Miami, Montgomery and Wilson counties tomorrow, Saturday, according to the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), the U.S. Small Business Administration and Kansas Division of Emergency Management (KDEM). The centers will be open from 1 p.m. until 6 p.m. on opening day.

These DRCs are designed to serve as information sites for those affected by the severe storms and flooding beginning June 26. Applicants may follow up with questions about their applications.

Hours (after Saturday) for the DRCs are 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Locations are listed below:

Fixed Site
Miami County

Osawatomie HS Auditorium
1200 Trojan Dr.
Osawatomie, Kan.

Montgomery County

Community Elem. School
Parking Lot
102 S. Cline St.
Coffeyville, Kan.

Wilson County

Neodesha City Hall
1407 N. 8th St.
Neodesha, Kan.

Representatives of the state, federal and voluntary agencies, as well as Customer Service Representatives from the U.S. Small Business Administration, will be available to answer questions and provide recovery information.

Disaster victims are urged to register for assistance first by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 1-800-462-7585 for the hearing or speech impaired. Victims can also register online at www.fema.gov or visit a DRC to meet face-to-face with recovery specialists. Phones are available onsite for applicants to register.

SBA representatives are at all DRC locations to explain how SBA low-interest disaster loans can help homeowners, renters, businesses of all sizes, and private non-profit organizations pay for their disaster losses, according to SBA officials. They also will meet with applicants one-on-one and assist them in filling out their loan applications.

FEMA coordinates the federal government?s role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, sex, religion, national origin, age, disability, economic status or retaliation. If you or someone you know has been discriminated against, you should call FEMA toll-free at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or contact your State Office of Equal Rights. If you are suspicious of any abuse of FEMA programs, please contact the Fraud hotline at 1-800-323-8603.

SBA is the federal government?s primary source of money for the long-term rebuilding of disaster-damaged private property. SBA helps homeowners, renters, businesses of all sizes, and private non-profit organizations fund repairs or rebuilding efforts, and cover the cost of replacing lost or disaster-damaged personal property. These disaster loans cover uninsured and uncompensated losses and do not duplicate benefits of other agencies or organizations. For information about SBA programs, applicants may call 800-659-2955.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top