Disaster Recovery Center to Open in Clay County

Main Content
Release date: 
June 29, 2007
Release Number: 

KANSAS CITY, Mo. -- The State Emergency Management Agency and the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) will open a Disaster Recovery Center (DRC) in Excelsior Springs on Monday and Tuesday, July 2-3, for people affected by the severe storms and flooding that occurred May 5 - 18, 2007. The DRC will be located at:

Midwest National Air Center
(also known as the Clay County Regional Airport)
13106 Rhodus Road (near Davidson Drive)
Excelsior Springs, Mo. 64024
Hours: 10 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Disaster victims are urged to register for assistance first by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 1-800-462-7585 for the hearing- or speech impaired. Victims can also register online at www.fema.gov or visit a DRC to meet face-to-face with recovery specialists.

Representatives of the state, federal, and voluntary agencies, as well as customer service representatives from the U.S. Small Business Administration, will be available to answer questions and provide recovery information. Written materials about various assistance programs are also available to individuals and business owners. No cash, checks, debit cards or vouchers are distributed by FEMA at the DRCs. These centers are for the dissemination of information to assist in victim recovery.

A Disaster Recovery Center will also be available Thursday and Friday, July 5-6, in Independence, Mo. at the Roger T. Sermon Community Center, 201 Dodgion St., Independence, Mo. 64050. Hours are 10 a.m. to 7 p.m.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top