Disaster Recovery Center In Missouri Valley Closing June 29

Main Content
Release date: 
June 27, 2007
Release Number: 

URBANDALE, Iowa -- Having met the needs of the community, the Disaster Recovery Center (DRC) in Missouri Valley in Harrison County will be closing on June 29th at 6 p.m. The DRC will continue to operate from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. until its closure.

The DRC at the Missouri Valley High School, Room 326, 605 E. Lincoln Highway in Missouri Valley, is staffed by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA), and the Iowa Homeland Security and Emergency Management Division (HSEMD) to provide information to Iowans affected by the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding of May 5-7.

Federal Coordinating Officer Carlos Mitchell said, "Closing this recovery center does not mean we are closing down registrations for disaster assistance. Iowans in the 15 counties designated for Individual Assistance can still register with FEMA by phone or on the Internet.  July 24th is the last day for individuals to apply for individual assistance."

Homeowners, renters and owners of businesses of all sizes are urged to apply for assistance by first calling the toll-free telephone line, 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) which is open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m., seven days a week. For applicants with special speech- or hearing-needs, the TTY number is 1-800-462-7585. Applicants may also register online at www.fema.gov.

Applicants with questions concerning their SBA disaster loan application may call the SBA Customer Service Center at 1-800-659-2955 for SBA information and assistance or visit the SBA website at www.sba.gov/services/disasterassistance

The SBA encourages small businesses in counties bordering those that were declared to apply for Economic Injury Disaster Loans (EIDLs) of up to $1.5 million to help meet financial obligations and operating expenses which could have been met had the disaster not occurred.  "Eligibility for these working capital loans is based on the financial impact of the disaster only and not on any actual property damage", said Joseph Folsom, Iowa District Director for the SBA.

EIDLs are available to small businesses in the neighboring Iowa counties of Adair, Adams, Boone, Buena Vista, Carroll, Cherokee, Clarke, Decatur, Greene, Guthrie, Madison, Polk, Ringgold, Sac, Warren and Woodbury;  the Nebraska counties of Burt, Cass, Douglas, Otoe, Sarpy and Washington; and the Missouri counties of Atchison, Nodaway and Worth.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top