One Month Remains To Register For FEMA Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
June 25, 2007
Release Number: 

URBANDALE, Iowa -- Only one month remains until the July 24th deadline for Iowa residents and business owners in the 15 disaster-declared counties, who sustained damage during the storms of May 5-7, to register for disaster assistance, according to the Iowa Homeland Security and Emergency Management Division (HSEMD) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

Federal and state disaster recovery officials urge those who have not registered, to do so as soon as possible by calling the toll-free registration number at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), or (TTY) 1-800-462-7585 for the speech-or hearing-impaired. Individuals may also register online at After the registration deadline, FEMA's toll-free phone lines will still be available to assist those who have already registered.

Federal Coordinating Officer Carlos Mitchell said, "We want people to understand that this deadline is for new disaster registration. For those who already have registered, their cases will continue to be processed. New registrations will not be accepted after the July 24th deadline."

Fifteen Iowa counties are eligible for individual assistance. They are Audubon, Cass, Crawford, Dallas, Fremont, Harrison, Ida, Mills, Monona, Montgomery, Page, Pottawattamie, Shelby, Taylor, and Union. The original Presidential Declaration was on May 25th.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top