Main Content

Kansas Disaster Assistance Nears $34 Million

Release date: 
June 22, 2007
Release Number: 

WICHITA, Kan.? -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) continues to assist the state of Kansas and the Kansas Division of Emergency Management (KDEM) in the recovery from the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding of May 4-18. More than $33.7 million in assistance has been approved to date.

Disaster recovery efforts through June 21 include:

  • In Kansas, 1,752 individuals were approved for aid in the 21 counties designated to receive Individual Assistance grants. July 5 is the last day individuals can apply for assistance.

  • Over $5 million ($5,064,170) in Housing Assistance has been approved to cover rental assistance, temporary lodging, and housing repairs for 1621 applicants. Eighty-two families are living in temporary housing supplied by FEMA.

  • Almost $1.1 million ($1,077,266) in Other Needs Assistance (ONA) has been approved for 493 applicants to cover their personal property loss, medical costs and other serious disaster-related expenses not covered by insurance.

  • Nearly $27 million ($26,714,600) in low-interest disaster loans have been approved by the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) for 2,619 households and 584 businesses.

  • To date, 3,863 people affected by the disaster have met with recovery experts at Disaster Recovery Centers set up throughout the region to provide help.

  • Public Assistance grants totaling $931,970 have been obligated to reimburse local governments for eligible emergency protective services, debris removal and the repair and rebuilding of infrastructure. To date, 355 Requests for Public Assistance have been received from applicant communities.

Residents who suffered damage between May 4-18 and live in any of the following counties should call and register for assistance before July 5. These counties include: Barton, Clay, Cloud, Comanche, Dickinson, Edwards, Ellsworth, Kiowa, Leavenworth, Lyon, Osage, Osborne, Ottawa, Phillips, Pratt, Reno, Rice, Riley, Saline, Shawnee and Stafford.

Eligible Kansas residents can call the toll-free registration line at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or (TTY) 1-800-462-7585. Operators are available Monday to Saturday from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. CDT or register anytime online at July 5 is the last day individuals can apply for assistance.

FEMA Public Assistance (PA) grants are available in 32 counties to reimburse state and local governments and some private non-profit organizations for eligible costs including emergency services, debris removal and repair or replacement of some public facilities.

Government officials in the following counties are eligible to apply for PA grants: Barton, Brown, Clay, Chase, Cherokee, Comanche, Dickinson, Doniphan, Douglas, Edwards, Ellsworth, Harper, Jackson, Kingman, Kiowa, Leavenworth, Lincoln, Lyon, Nemaha, Osborne, Osage, Ottawa, Pottawatomie, Pratt, Reno, Rice, Riley, Saline, Shawnee, Stafford, Wabaunsee, and Washington. For more information, local governments in eligible counties should contact their local KDEM official.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: