July 5 is Deadline for Individuals and Families to Apply for Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
June 22, 2007
Release Number: 

WICHITA, Kan. -- Kansans who were affected by the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding of May 4-18 have only two weeks remaining to apply, according to officials with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Kansas Division of Emergency Management (KDEM).

Thursday, July 5, is the last day to register for federal/state assistance for individuals, households and businesses in the 21 Kansas counties designated for Individual Assistance. The same deadline applies to the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) for applicants who are seeking low-interest loans for disaster-related losses of real and personal property.

"We want people to understand that this deadline is for first-time disaster applicants," said Michael L. Karl, federal official in charge of Kansas recovery. "For those who already have applied, their applications will continue to be processed,” he said. “New applications cannot be accepted after July 5."

Individuals and households in the 21 Kansas counties designated for Individual Assistance are eligible to apply for federal and state disaster aid to help Kansans recover.

Kansas counties designated for Individual Assistance are: Barton, Clay, Cloud, Comanche, Dickinson, Edwards, Ellsworth, Kiowa, Leavenworth, Lyon, Osage, Osborne, Ottawa, Phillips, Pratt, Reno, Rice, Riley, Saline, Shawnee and Stafford.

After the application deadline, assistance for those who have already filed applications will be available at the Disaster Recovery Centers from 9 a.m-6 p.m., Monday through Saturday, or by calling 1-800-621-3362 (FEMA) or TTY 1-800-462-7585 for those with special speech or hearing needs. The hours of telephone operation are 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. CDT.

Representatives from FEMA will be in the Disaster Recovery Center to answer questions about the status of disaster assistance applications and hazard mitigation measures.

SBA representatives are at all of the Disaster Recovery Centers to meet individually with each resident or business owner to answer any questions about SBA's disaster loan program; help them complete their SBA disaster loan application, and accept their completed applications. Anyone not able to go to a Disaster Recovery Center should call the SBA Customer Service Center at 1-800-659-2955 for SBA information and assistance or visit the SBA website at www.sba.gov/services/disasterassistance.

Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, sex, religion, national origin, age, disability, economic status or retaliation. If you or someone you know has been discriminated against, you should call FEMA toll-free at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or contact your State Office of Equal Rights. If you are suspicious of any abuse of FEMA programs, please contact the Fraud hotline at 1-800-323-8603.

FEMA coordinates the federal government’s role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top