Iowa Receives Presidential Declaration For Audubon, Crawford And Monona Counties

Main Content
Release date: 
June 22, 2007
Release Number: 

URBANDALE, Iowa -- Iowa Homeland Security and Emergency Management Division (HSEMD) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced that Audubon, Crawford, and Monona counties, previously declared for Public Assistance under the Presidential Declaration for May 5-7 storms, are now eligible for Individual Assistance.

Individual Assistance can include grants to help pay for temporary housing, home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses. Low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration are also available to cover residential and business losses not fully compensated by insurance.

Fifteen Iowa counties are eligible for individual assistance. They are Audubon, Cass, Crawford, Dallas, Fremont, Harrison, Ida, Mills, Monona, Montgomery, Page, Pottawattamie, Shelby, Taylor, and Union. The original Presidential Declaration was on May 25.

Residents and business owners, who sustained losses in the designated counties, may apply for assistance by registering online at or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing-and speech-impaired. The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. (local time) Monday thru Sunday.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top