Brown County To Get Federal Disaster Aid

Main Content
Release date: 
June 20, 2007
Release Number: 

WICHITA, Kan. -- The Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announces it is expanding assistance to include Brown County to help pay for emergency services, and to repair or replace public facilities damaged by the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding of May 4-18.

Government entities, municipal authorities, school districts and certain private nonprofit organizations are now eligible for all categories of Public Assistance.

"We are pleased we can now provide Public Assistance funding to eligible Brown County communities," said Michael L. Karl, federal coordinating officer for the Kansas disaster recovery. "FEMA and the Kansas Division of Emergency Management officials are now reaching out to Brown County applicants."

Local governments and certain eligible private nonprofit organizations in 32 counties may apply for Public Assistance grants for debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster, and the restoration of damaged public facilities.

These counties are: Barton, Brown, Chase, Cherokee, Clay, Comanche, Dickinson, Doniphan, Douglas, Edwards, Ellsworth, Harper, Jackson, Kingman, Kiowa, Leavenworth, Lincoln, Lyon, Nemaha, Osage, Osborne, Ottawa, Pottawatomie, Pratt, Reno, Rice, Riley, Saline, Shawnee, Stafford, Wabaunsee and Washington.

"This assistance will be critical in helping Brown County communities to recover," said Angee Morgan, state coordinating officer for the Kansas Division of Emergency Management (KDEM).

Further information is available through the KDEM Public Assistance Branch.

FEMA coordinates the federal government?s role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top