Main Content

Deadline Approaches For Disaster Unemployment Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
June 18, 2007
Release Number: 

Sioux Falls, S.D. -- The deadline to apply for Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA) is approaching, according to federal and state emergency officials.

The DUA application deadline for those who live or work in the ten counties designated for Individual Assistance in the original disaster declaration is June 25. Those counties are Beadle, Brown, Clark, Davison, Hanson, Hutchinson, Miner, Sanborn, Spink, and Yankton.

The deadline for those who live or work in Marshall County is July 2.

To be eligible for benefits, individuals must be unemployed or unable to do business as a direct result of the disaster. 

"These benefits are available to people who are not ordinarily eligible for regular unemployment insurance," said Federal Coordinating Officer Justin Dombrowski. For instance," Dombrowski said, "people who are self-employed could be eligible for weekly unemployment benefits under this program."

"We're particularly concerned that farmers and ranchers get in touch with the Department of Labor to find out if they qualify for this assistance," said Director of the South Dakota Office of Emergency Management Kristi Turman. "We want to make this aid available to everyone who's eligible."

Anyone who thinks he or she may be eligible is encouraged to contact the South Dakota Department of Labor's Unemployment Insurance Call Center at (605) 626-3179 from 8 a.m. to 4:20 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Applicants will need to furnish their Social Security number and proof of 2006 income. Self-employed individuals must provide documentation within 21 days of their application to prove they were unable to work due to the severe storms and flooding of May 4-5.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top