New Hampshire Residents Urged To Apply For Disaster Assistance Before June 26 Deadline

Main Content
Release date: 
June 12, 2007
Release Number: 

PORTSMOUTH, N.H. -- Only two weeks remain until the June 26 deadline to apply for federal and state disaster assistance to help with losses resulting from the flooding and severe storms occurring April 15-23, according to the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the New Hampshire Homeland Security and Emergency Management.

There are two easy ways to begin the application process. Residents may call FEMA’s toll-free number at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 1-800-462-7585 for those with speech or hearing impairment. Both lines are available 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. daily. Residents with Internet access may register online at, where valuable recovery information is also available.

Individuals with insurance may be eligible for disaster assistance for under-insured losses, so they should apply before the deadline even if they have not received their insurance settlement. However, in order for individuals to receive assistance, FEMA will need the insurance settlement information to avoid any duplication of benefits.

Applications may be updated and will continue to be processed after the June 26 application deadline. Helpline representatives (at the toll-free numbers listed above) are available to answer questions about assistance or check the status of a caller’s application.

Assistance available to disaster victims includes grants for temporary disaster housing and repairs to disaster-damaged and uninsured homes to bring them to a safe and sanitary living condition, and assistance for serious disaster-related needs and expenses not covered by insurance or other assistance programs. In addition, the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) can provide eligible applicants with low-interest disaster loans for individuals and business owners to repair or replace damaged property, not covered by insurance.

Tuesday, June 26 is the final day to apply for disaster assistance for all those affected by severe storms and flooding in the following disaster-designated counties: Belknap, Grafton, Hillsborough, Merrimack, Rockingham, and Strafford.

FEMA coordinates the federal government’s role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top