Disaster Recovery Centers Change Schedules; Great Bend to Close

Main Content
Release date: 
June 12, 2007
Release Number: 

WICHITA, Kan. -- The Disaster Recovery Center at Great Bend will close Saturday, June 16, at 6 p.m.

Hours of operation for all remaining Disaster Recovery Centers operated by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the State of Kansas to aid in recovery from the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding of May 4-18 will change effective immediately.

Disaster Recovery Centers will no longer be open on Sundays.

All Disaster Recovery Centers will be open 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Saturday.

Disaster Recovery Centers are located at:

  • Barton County, Great Bend High School parking lot, 1800 Morton St., Great Bend, will close at 6 p.m. Saturday, June 16.

  • Kiowa County, Barclay College, Hockett Auditorium, 100 East Elm St., Haviland.

  • Kiowa County, east of the courthouse, Greensburg.

  • Lyon County, in the Wal-Mart parking lot, 2301 Industrial Road, Emporia.

  • Reno County, at 2806 West Fourth Ave., (behind the old fire station) Hutchinson.

  • Saline County, American Red Cross Building, 145 S. Broadway, Salina

  • Shawnee County, Ramada Tower, 420 S.E. Sixth Ave. (Third Floor), Topeka.

FEMA representatives are in the Disaster Recovery Centers to answer questions about registering for disaster assistance and hazard mitigation measures. Representatives of the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) are there to help with disaster loan applications.

Homeowners, renters and business owners in 20 counties designated for Individual Assistance may be eligible for federal and state disaster aid to help Kansans recover from the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding of May 4-18.

These counties are: Barton, Clay, Cloud, Comanche, Dickinson, Edwards, Ellsworth, Kiowa, Leavenworth, Lyon, Osborne, Ottawa, Phillips, Pratt, Reno, Rice, Riley, Saline, Shawnee and Stafford.

Residents in need of assistance are urged to register first by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). The TTY number is 1-800-462-7585 for applicants with special speech or hearing needs. Registration is also available on the Internet at www.fema.gov.

SBA representatives at all of the Disaster Recovery Centers meet individually with each residents or business owners to answer any questions about SBA's disaster loan program, help them complete a disaster loan application and accept completed loan applications.  Anyone not able to visit a DRC should call 1-800-659-2955 or visit the SBA website at www.sba.gov/services/disasterassistance.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror. 

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top