Disaster Assistance Expands to Individuals in Dickinson, Ellsworth

Main Content
Release date: 
June 12, 2007
Release Number: 

WICHITA, Kan. -- Homeowners, renters and business owners in Dickinson and Ellsworth counties who suffered damage as a result of the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding from May 4-18 are now eligible to apply for federal disaster assistance.

"Adding these counties means residents in 20 Kansas counties may now qualify for grants and loans to help with their disaster recovery," said Michael L. Karl, federal coordinating officer.

Kansas counties now eligible for Individual Assistance are: Barton, Clay, Cloud, Comanche, Dickinson, Edwards, Ellsworth, Kiowa, Leavenworth, Lyon, Osborne, Ottawa, Phillips, Pratt, Reno, Rice, Riley, Saline, Shawnee and Stafford.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Kansas Division of Emergency Management (KDEM) have been working together to help Kansans since May 6 when President Bush issued the major disaster declaration.

"We want to make sure everyone who is eligible gets the assistance they need," Angee Morgan, state coordinator for the disaster recovery, said.

The disaster programs for individuals include temporary housing and grants for disaster-related expenses not met by insurance or other programs. Kansans can register for assistance by visiting a Disaster Recovery Center, or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). Applicants with special speech or hearing needs can call TTY 1-800-462-7585. Registration can also be done on line at www.fema.gov.

The U. S. Small Business Administration (SBA) offers low-interest disaster loans to homeowners, renters, businesses of all sizes and to private non-profit organizations in the designated counties to cover uncompensated costs to repair or replace homes, businesses and personal property damaged by the tornadoes, severe storms and flooding that occurred May 4-18. 

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top