Iowa Receives Presidential Declaration For Dallas County

Main Content
Release date: 
June 9, 2007
Release Number: 

URBANDALE, Iowa -- Iowa Homeland Security and Emergency Management Division (HSEMD) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today that Dallas County has been added to the Presidential Disaster Declaration for Iowa counties affected by recent severe storms, flooding, and tornadoes, May 5-7. Individuals in Dallas County, affected by this disaster, are now eligible for federal individual assistance.

The assistance, to be coordinated by FEMA, can include grants to help pay for temporary housing, home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses. Low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration will also be available to cover residential and business losses not fully compensated by insurance.

The Iowa counties of Cass, Fremont, Harrison, Ida, Mills, Montgomery, Page, Pottawattamie, Shelby, Taylor, and Union were declared May 25 for individual assistance. With the addition of Dallas County, 12 Iowa counties are now eligible for individual assistance.

Residents and business owners, who sustained losses in the designated counties, may apply for assistance by registering online at or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing-and speech-impaired. The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. (local time) Monday thru Sunday.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top