Disaster Assistance Expanded For Four Maine Counties

Main Content
Release date: 
May 24, 2007
Release Number: 

SCARBOROUGH, Maine ? Residents of four additional Maine counties can now register for federal disaster assistance for damages related to the Nor'easter that struck Maine in mid-April. This aid is in addition to that already approved following the declaration of a federal disaster by President Bush on April 25.

Individuals or Households in Knox, Lincoln, Oxford and Sagadahoc counties can register for assistance online at www.fema.gov or by calling toll-free 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., seven days a week until further notice. Those with speech or hearing impairment may call TTY 1-800-462-7585.

"Now more Mainers will be able to receive assistance," said Ginnie Ricker, state coordinating officer for the Maine Emergency Management Agency (MEMA). "It?s also important to note that residents who have called their local emergency management or the Red Cross will now need to contact FEMA."

Disaster assistance for individuals provided by FEMA and MEMA may include grants to help pay for temporary housing, home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses. Low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) also will be available to cover residential and business losses not fully compensated by insurance. SBA disaster loans can also be used to replace personal property lost by renters or homeowners.

"This additional assistance is another demonstration that the federal government and Maine are partners in the recovery process. We will continue to work with the state throughout this recovery process," said Albie Lewis, federal coordinating officer.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

The Maine Emergency Management Agency (MEMA) has statutory responsibility for statewide coordination of emergency preparedness, response, recovery and mitigation. MEMA is a bureau of the Department of Defense, Veterans and Emergency Management.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top