Main Content

Washington County Eligible For Public Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
May 17, 2007
Release Number: 

SCARBOROUGH, Maine - The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has declared Washington County eligible for disaster assistance for state and local governments and certain private non-profits. This brings to 13 the total number of Maine counties eligible for public assistance as a result of damages from the April nor'easter.

Aid to governments, termed "public assistance" funds eligible emergency work such as overtime and debris removal as well as the repair of damaged public facilities not covered by insurance. Some private non-profits which provide governmental services can also be eligible. FEMA funds 75 percent of costs. The Maine Emergency Management Agency (MEMA) manages the public assistance program. MEMA will announce a briefing in Washington County to explain the application process.

At the request of Governor Baldacci, President Bush signed a major disaster declaration for Maine April 25. This triggered public assistance for Androscoggin, Cumberland, Kennebec, Knox, Oxford, and York counties. On April 30, FEMA announced that Franklin, Hancock, Lincoln, Sagadahoc, Somerset and Waldo counties were also eligible.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

The Maine Emergency Management Agency (MEMA) has statutory responsibility for statewide coordination of emergency preparedness, response, recovery and mitigation. MEMA is a bureau of the Department of Defense, Veterans and Emergency Management.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top