Main Content

Two More Counties Eligible for Public Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
May 17, 2007
Release Number: 

PISCATAWAY, N.J. -- Atlantic and Warren counties have been designated eligible for public disaster assistance from the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

Federal funding is available through FEMA's Public Assistance Program to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the April severe storms and flooding in Atlantic and Warren counties.

This funding covers reimbursement costs for emergency debris removal and emergency protective measures and can fund the repair, restoration, reconstruction or replacement of public infrastructure such as roads and bridges, water control facilities, public buildings and contents, public utilities and parks and other recreational facilities damaged during a disaster.

Eleven counties were previously designated for Public Assistance under the disaster declaration of April 26, 2007. They are Bergen, Burlington, Camden, Essex, Hudson, Mercer, Middlesex, Passaic, Somerset, Sussex and Union.

FEMA and NJOEM work together to coordinate the federal and state governments' roles in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top