Main Content

Three More Counties Added To NJ Disaster Declaration

Main Content
Release date: 
April 30, 2007
Release Number: 

PISCATAWAY, N.J. -- The number of New Jersey counties eligible for federal assistance in the wake of the April 14-20 nor'easter was expanded today, when Camden, Mercer and Gloucester counties were added to the list of counties declared a disaster area by President Bush.

The declaration makes residents of these counties eligible for the federal Individual Assistance grant program. To get assistance, residents must register by telephone at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), TTY 1-800-462-7585 or on line at Assistance for eligible individuals and small businesses includes funds for temporary housing and necessary home repairs, individual and household grants, disaster unemployment assistance, and low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration and other programs.

Elsewhere in the state, FEMA's six Disaster Recovery Center did a brisk business today, answering questions about the type of assistance available. Representatives from the Small Business Administration were also available to answer questions about the agency's low-interest loan programs.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top