Three More Counties Added To Iowa Snow Emergency Declaration

Main Content
Release date: 
April 24, 2007
Release Number: 

URBANDALE, Iowa -- Iowa Homeland Security and Emergency Management Division (IHSEMD) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today the addition of Dickinson, Plymouth, and Woodbury Counties to the Presidential Emergency Declaration for Iowa counties affected by recent snowfalls. This presidential declaration enables public entities to receive federal aid.

Public entities in the 30 declared counties are eligible for reimbursement of 48 continuous hours of snow removal expenses and other emergency protective measures incurred as the result of record and near record snowfalls during the period of February 28 to March 2, 2007. The counties included in the declaration are Adair, Audubon, Buena Vista, Carroll, Cass, Cherokee, Clay, Crawford, Dickinson, Emmet, Greene, Guthrie, Hancock, Harrison, Humboldt, Ida, Kossuth, Monona, O’Brien, Osceola, Palo Alto, Plymouth, Pocahontas, Pottawattamie, Sac, Shelby, Webster, Winnebago, Woodbury, and Wright.

The assistance is available to state and eligible local governments on a cost-sharing basis for emergency protective measures that were undertaken to save lives and protect public health, safety, and property.

FEMA coordinates the federal government’s role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top