Iowa Receives $1.5 Million In Federal Public Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
April 18, 2007
Release Number: 

Urbandale, Iowa -- Federal and State of Iowa officials announced today more than $1.5 million have been obligated to date to reimburse state and local government agencies and certain non-profit organizations to help repair and restore essential public facilities and reimburse emergency costs due to the February severe winter storm.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced that 473 applicants have applied for disaster assistance since President Bush declared 48 counties in Iowa eligible for disaster aid following the recent severe winter weather. The $1.5 million represents reimbursements to 92 project worksheets. The FEMA project worksheet is the primary document indicating the scope of work, location, damage description, dimensions, and cost estimate for each project.

FEMA will provide 75 percent of the total cost for the 92 projects, with the State providing 10 percent, and the remaining 15 percent share coming from local resources.

Types of projects include debris removal, emergency protective measures (such as salting and sanding of roads and search and rescue of stranded motorists), and repairs to electrical distribution systems.

Applicants in the following counties are eligible under the severe winter storm for this grant: Benton, Black Hawk, Boone, Bremer, Buchanan, Butler, Calhoun, Cedar, Chickasaw, Clinton, Des Moines, Fayette, Floyd, Franklin, Greene, Grundy, Hamilton, Hardin, Henry, Howard, Humboldt, Iowa, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Johnson, Jones, Keokuk, Lee, Linn, Louisa, Mahaska, Marion, Marshall, Mitchell, Muscatine, Pocahontas, Polk, Poweshiek, Story, Tama, Van Buren, Wapello, Washington, Winnebago, Winneshiek, Worth, and Wright.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top