Application Deadlines for Severe Winter Storm and Snow Emergency Assistance Approaches

Main Content
Release date: 
April 6, 2007
Release Number: 

Urbandale, IA -- The Iowa Homeland Security and Emergency Management Division and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) urge public agencies and eligible private non-profits to apply for available federal assistance grants for emergency work and rebuilding damaged or destroyed infrastructure from the February severe winter storm and March snow emergency before the approaching deadlines.

Public agencies and eligible private nonprofits that intend to apply for federal assistance grants for the storm that struck Iowa during the period of February 23 to March 2 are facing an April 13 deadline. These agencies need to complete a one page form, called the Request for Public Assistance, to cover eligible expenses from the ice storm.

The form is available at the Iowa Homeland Security and Emergency Management Division website at . Applicants should click on “Winter Storm Information/Assistance”, select Public Assistance forms and then the Request for Public Assistance. The completed forms should be faxed to the Iowa Homeland Security and Emergency Management Division at 515-725-3260. Completing the form is the first step to being eligible for this grant program. Failure to submit the forms on time will deny an agency’s access to the program.

Applicants in the following counties are eligible under the severe winter storm for this grant:

Benton, Black Hawk, Boone, Bremer, Buchanan, Butler, Calhoun, Cedar, Chickasaw, Clinton, Des Moines, Fayette, Floyd, Franklin, Greene, Grundy, Hamilton, Hardin, Henry, Howard, Humboldt, Iowa, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Johnson, Jones, Keokuk, Lee, Linn, Louisa, Mahaska, Marion, Marshall, Mitchell, Muscatine, Pocahontas, Polk, Poweshiek, Story, Tama, Van Buren, Wapello, Washington, Winnebago, Winneshiek, Worth, and Wright. (Mahaska and Polk Counties’ deadline is April 25 due to being declared disaster areas later.)

A second deadline is also approaching for counties declared under the snow emergency during the period of February 28 to March 2. Applicants in the 23 counties must submit the form by April 29, 2007.

The 23 counties are: Adair, Audubon, Buena Vista, Carroll, Cass, Clay, Crawford, Emmet, Greene, Guthrie, Hancock, Harrison, Humboldt, Kossuth, Monona, O’Brien, Palo Alto, Pocahontas, Pottawattamie, Sac, Shelby, Winnebago, and Wright Counties.

The federal share of assistance is 75 percent of the eligible cost for emergency measures and permanent restoration. The state covers 10 percent and local agencies support the remaining 15 percent. FEMA has already obligated more than $300,000 in grants as of April 5, 2007 to the State of Iowa through the public assistance program. The State administers the program and allocates the money to the sub-applicants.

FEMA coordinates the federal government’s role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top