Main Content

President Declares Emergency Disaster For Iowa

Main Content
Release date: 
March 30, 2007
Release Number: 

WASHINGTON, D.C. -- The head of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) today announced that federal disaster aid has been made available for Iowa to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the area struck by record snow and near record snow during the period of February 28 to March 2, 2007.

FEMA Director David Paulison said federal funding is available to the state and eligible local governments in the counties of Adair, Audubon, Buena Vista, Carroll, Cass, Clay, Crawford, Emmet, Greene, Guthrie, Hancock, Harrison, Humboldt, Kossuth, Monona, O'Brien, Palo Alto, Pocahontas, Pottawattamie, Sac, Shelby, Winnebago, and Wright.

The assistance is available to state and eligible local governments on a cost-sharing basis for emergency protective measures that were undertaken to save lives and protect public health, safety and property over a continuous 48-hour period during or proximate to the incident period.

Paulison named Carlos Mitchell the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area.

FEMA manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident, initiates mitigation activities and manages the National Flood Insurance Program.  FEMA works closely with state and local emergency managers, law enforcement personnel, firefighters and other first responders.  FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top