Main Content

Four Missouri Counties Added to Disaster List

Main Content
Release date: 
March 5, 2007
Release Number: 

COLUMBIA, Mo. -- After further damage assessments, four more Missouri counties have been declared eligible for federal disaster aid for infrastructure damage sustained in the Nov. 30-Dec. 2 ice storm, disaster recovery officials said today - Callaway, Camden, Marion and Miller counties.

The Missouri State Emergency Management Agency will schedule applicant briefings for the four counties to get local agencies started on the assistance process.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Public Assistance grant program provides assistance to the state, local governments and certain non-profit organizations for repair, replacement or restoration of disaster-damaged facilities. FEMA pays 75 percent of eligible costs.

Those agencies in the four counties are now eligible to apply for federal reimbursement for debris removal, emergency protective measures, repair of roads and bridges, repair of water control facilities, repair or replacement of buildings, equipment and vehicles, repair of utilities (water systems, electric power facilities and sewage treatment facilities), repair and restoration of parks and recreational facilities.

FEMA assistance for the winter storm in Missouri is limited to Public Assistance. Individuals who need assistance with storm related damages should contact the American Red Cross, 1-866-GET-INFO (438-4636), or the Missouri Disaster Hotline, 1-888-377-2100.

FEMA manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident, initiates mitigation activities and manages the National Flood Insurance Program. FEMA works closely with state and local emergency managers, law enforcement personnel, firefighters and other first responders. FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: