Main Content

Second Disaster Recovery Center Opens Monday in New Orleans

Release date: 
March 4, 2007
Release Number: 

NEW ORLEANS, La. -- A Disaster Recovery Center (DRC) will open Monday, March 5, in Orleans Parish to serve individuals who suffered losses from storms and tornadoes that occurred on Feb. 12 and 13 in Jefferson, Orleans and St. Martin parishes, said officials from the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Governor’s Office of Homeland Security and Emergency Preparedness (GOHSEP).

What: FEMA/State Disaster Recovery Center (DRC)
Where: St. Matthew United Church of Christ, 1333 S. Carrollton Ave., New Orleans
When: Beginning at noon on Monday, March 5
Hours: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Saturday and noon to 6 p.m. on Sundays

Representatives from the state, FEMA and the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) will be available to provide applicants with information regarding the types of assistance available to them. SBA customer service representatives will be on hand at the DRCs to issue loan applications, answer questions about SBA’s disaster loan program, explain the application process and help each individual complete their application.

Before visiting a DRC, individuals are urged to register for assistance by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), or TTY 1-800-462-7585, for those who are hearing- or speech-impaired. The FEMA registration line is open 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. daily, until further notice. Those affected by the disaster can also register online at

Below is a list of additional DRCs and their locations. These DRCs are open from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. daily until further notice.

St. Martin Parish, Fire Training Center, 1035 Ruth Bridge Highway, Breaux Bridge
Jefferson Parish, Avenue D Gym, 1200 Avenue D, Westwego
Orleans Parish, Mt. Tabor Baptist Church, 4128 Franklin Ave., New Orleans

DRCs provide residents an opportunity to meet face-to-face with representatives from state, federal, and voluntary agencies to get information on the disaster assistance that may be available to them. No cash, checks, debit cards or vouchers are distributed at DRCs. These centers are for the dissemination of information to assist in victim recovery.

FEMA manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident, initiates mitigation activities and manages the National Flood Insurance Program. FEMA works closely with state and local emergency managers, law enforcement personnel, firefighters and other first responders. FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

SBA is the federal government’s primary source of money for the long-term rebuilding of disaster-damaged private property. SBA helps homeowners, renters, businesses of all sizes, and private non-profit organizations fund repairs or rebuilding efforts, and cover the cost of replacing lost or repairing disaster-damaged personal property. These disaster loans cover uninsured and uncompensated losses and do not duplicate benefits of other agencies or organizations.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: