Cheyenne, Huerfano And Kiowa Counties Added To FEMA Snow Emergency Declaration

Main Content
Release date: 
February 12, 2007
Release Number: 

LITTLETON, Colo. -- The U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced that federal snow emergency funds have been made available to help Cheyenne, Huerfano and Kiowa counties cover specific costs related to the severe winter storm of Dec. 28 - 31. 

These additions to the Colorado snow emergency declarations bring the total counties available for assistance to 24.  They include for the Dec. 18-22 winter storm declaration the following counties:  Adams, Arapahoe, Boulder, Broomfield, Custer, Denver, Douglas, Elbert, El Paso, Gilpin, Jefferson, Larimer, Las Animas, Pueblo, Teller and Washington counties.  Included for the Dec. 28-31 severe winter storm are:  Baca, Bent, Cheyenne, Crowley, Huerfano, Kiowa, Las Animas, Otero, Prowers and Pueblo.

Federal assistance is provided on a cost-sharing basis covering 75 percent of eligible costs incurred for snow removal and emergency protective measures taken in response to the storms. State and local governments assume the remaining 25 percent share.

Additional information is available at Handbooks, maps, and worksheets for potential applicants are available on the website.

FEMA manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident, initiates mitigation activities and manages the National Flood Insurance Program. FEMA works closely with state and local emergency managers, law enforcement personnel, firefighters and other first responders. FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on Mar. 1, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top