Main Content

Additional Disaster Assistance Available for Missouri Counties

Main Content
Release date: 
February 9, 2007
Release Number: 

COLUMBIA , Mo. -- Additional federal disaster aid will be available for infrastructure repairs in 25 Missouri counties hard hit by the January ice storm, disaster recovery officials said today.

The counties eligible to apply for additional federal disaster assistance are: Barry, Camden, Christian, Crawford, Dade, Dallas, Franklin, Gasconade, Greene, Hickory, Jasper, Laclede, Lawrence, Maries, McDonald, Miller, Newton, Osage, Phelps, Polk, Pulaski, St. Clair, Stone, Webster, and Wright .

Originally these counties were eligible to apply for federal reimbursement for debris removal and emergency protective measures only. The additional assistance will include grants for repair of roads and bridges; repair of water control facilities; repair or replacement of buildings, equipment and vehicles; repair of utilities (water systems, electric power facilities and sewage treatment facilities); repair and restoration of parks and recreational facilities.

Additionally, four counties were added to the Presidential disaster declaration for Public Assistance. Those counties are: Benton, Boone, Cedar, and Texas. Local governments and certain non-profit organizations in these counties are eligible to apply for all categories of Public Assistance.

FEMA's Public Assistance grant program provides assistance to the state, local governments and certain non-profit organizations for repair, replacement or restoration of disaster-damaged publicly owned facilities and facilities of qualified non-profit organizations. FEMA pays 75 percent of eligible costs.

To date, FEMA assistance for the January winter storm in Missouri is limited to Public Assistance. FEMA's Individual Assistance program has not been authorized, though damage assessments are in process to determine if Missouri will qualify. Individuals who need assistance should contact the American Red Cross, 1-866-GET-INFO (438-4636), or the Missouri Disaster Hotline, 1-888-377-2100.

FEMA manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident, initiates mitigation activities and manages the National Flood Insurance Program. FEMA works closely with state and local emergency managers, law enforcement personnel, firefighters and other first responders. FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: