Deadline Near To Seek Public Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
February 2, 2007
Release Number: 

TOPEKA, Kansas -- Public agencies and eligible private nonprofit organizations have less than a week to apply for disaster assistance from the Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), disaster officials said today.

February 6 is the deadline to submit Request for Public Assistance forms for infrastructure damage suffered during the December 28-31 winter storm in 44 western Kansas counties.

The Public Assistance Grant Program provides assistance to eligible state agencies, local governments and certain eligible private nonprofit organizations for approved disaster-related costs. Eligible costs include debris removal, emergency services, repairing or replacing damaged public facilities, road repair, bridge repair, repair of water control facilities and restoration of buildings, utilities and recreational facilities. FEMA pays 75 percent of eligible costs and the grantee determines how the non-federal share is split with the eligible applicants.

Preliminary assessments estimate damage at $362 million in the designated counties. The state administers the Public Assistance program and allocates the money to the applicants.

FEMA prepares the nation for all hazards and manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates mitigation activities, trains first responders, works with state and local emergency managers, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration. FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top