Main Content

Public Assistance Application Deadline Extended

Release date: 
February 1, 2007
Release Number: 

COLUMBIA, Mo. -- At the request of officials with the State Emergency Management Agency (SEMA), the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) yesterday extended the deadline to February 15, 2007, for the state, local governments, and certain private non-profit entities affected by the late 2006 winter storm to apply for FEMA’s Public Assistance program.

“The jurisdictions affected by the winter storm that occurred between November 30 and December 2, 2006 were hit by a second major storm in mid-January,” explained Michael L. Karl, federal coordinating officer for FEMA’s response effort in Missouri. “It only makes sense to give these communities additional time to get their applications in order for Public Assistance from the first storm.”

FEMA’s Public Assistance program was approved for nine counties and the City of St. Louis in response to the November 30 – December 2, 2006 winter storm. The counties are: Boone, Cole, Greene, Iron, Reynolds, St. Francois, Ste. Genevieve, St. Louis, and Washington.

The original deadline for public entities in these nine counties and the City of St. Louis to apply for Public Assistance was January 28, 2007. The extended deadline is February 15, 2007.

For projects that are approved, FEMA will pay 75 percent of the cost of emergency work, including debris removal, and permanent work to repair or replace disaster-damaged facilities. State and local governments typically share the balance that FEMA does not fund.

FEMA’s Individual Assistance program was not approved because the ice storm of November 30 – December 2, 2006 did not result in widespread uninsured damage to primary residences.

For more information about the Public Assistance program, visit FEMA’s website,, or SEMA’s website,

FEMA manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident, initiates mitigation activities and manages the National Flood Insurance Program. FEMA works closely with state and local emergency managers, law enforcement personnel, firefighters and other first responders. FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: